Our task as probate genealogy experts is to trace potential beneficiaries of an estate of a decedent without known heirs, to determine their legitimacy, to locate them and to calculate the benefit they are entitled to. All this must enable the solicitor to allocate the estate between the heirs.

We are always given a mandate by a member of the legal profession (solicitor, lawyer, law court) to bring our research to a successful close by piecing together the complete family tree of the decedent (called “de cujus”) whose relatives are often totally unknown.

It is often the case these days that several members of the same family live in different countries. Our investigation is then organized from Belgium in coordination with our correspondents worldwide.

The probate genealogist proves to be the privileged partner of solicitors and lawyers who can then be certain of a correct hereditary inheritance.

Notre mission en tant que généalogistes successoraux est de rechercher des héritiers potentiels dans le cadre d’une succession vacante, de déterminer leur légitimité, de les localiser et de calculer la quotité qui leur revient afin de permettre au notaire de liquider cette succession.

Nous sommes toujours mandatés par un professionnel du droit (notaire, avocat, tribunal) afin de mener à bien les recherches nous permettant de dresser le tableau généalogique complet de la personne décédée (appelée le défunt ou  le “de cujus”) dont la famille est souvent complètement ou partiellement inconnue.

Il est courant aujourd’hui de retrouver différents membres d’une même famille dans plusieurs pays. Nos recherches sont alors coordonnées au départ de la Belgique en collaboration avec nos correspondants dans le monde entier.

Le généalogiste successoral est donc un partenaire privilégié des notaires et avocats qui acquièrent ainsi la certitude d’une dévolution successorale exacte.